The Story Behind: Halloween 1978

Here is another post in the category of The Story Behind, which is a very personal category and this time I will go deeper in the circumstances when I first saw John Carpenter’s Halloween.

halloween2.png

This movie actually changed my life, no I’m not kidding, it really did. I remember sitting home watching TV on night when I was 6 years old. I think that my mom was downstairs and I was supposed to be asleep, but I wasn’t, I was flipping through channels on the TV instead and suddenly I saw the first scene in Halloween and I could not keep my eyes away.

halloween1

I was so fascinated with what was happening on the screen that I watched the entire film, on very low volume so that my mom or dad wouldn’t hear and after watching Halloween, I was hooked on the horror genre. This film is one of only 3 or 4 films that have ever truly scared me, manly because of Michael Myers and because of the music. This was the first horror movie I had ever seen (at least from what I remember) and it made such a huge impact on me.

One thought on “The Story Behind: Halloween 1978

  1. A wonderful place to begin ones horror journey. A classic and excellent horror film! My first horror film was A Nightmare On Elm Street. I was 7 and our aunt rented a bunch of horror film (I know, our aunt was awesome). She had us for the summer as she often did and made us promise never to tell our parents.

    We watched all the NOES films that summer, and also Halloween, We watched Jason, and Children Of The Corn. It was a wonderful Summer indeed, and I never looked back after that.

    I’ve loved horror ever since. Thank you for sharing your own experience. ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

