A Virgin Among the Living Dead (1973)

 

virgin1

With a title like A virgin among the living dead, I thought that the film would be a bit more intense.

A virgin among the living deadA girl arrives from London to visit her estranged relatives in a remote castle for the reading of her father’s will. After a while she discovers that they are all in fact dead and her decision to live with them turns into a nightmare. Unable to leave she’s drawn into a macabre underworld through visions of nude satanic rituals and her own impending sacrifice.

There were some good moments though, the ending was pretty good and the last shot was nice, but for the most part this movie was a bit slow and not enough blood to make it work.

I had imagined a very different movie when I read the title and sadly I was dissapointed. The cinematography was okey, but the story was not intriguing and I mostly wanted the movie to end. I will give Jess Franco more chances even though the movies I have seen from him haven’t wanted me to watch more.

Grading: 4 out of 10.

virgin2.jpg

 

2 thoughts on “A Virgin Among the Living Dead (1973)

Leave a Reply

